The History of the Faculty

Last modified: 2019. October 14.


The Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and Rural Development was established in 2016, when Eszterházy Károly University was funded with fusion of Károly Róbert College Gyöngyös and Eszterházy Károly College Eger as well as Faculty of Applied Arts of StSU Jászberény, but beginning of agricultural training in Gyöngyös so the history of the faculty goes back a lot longer.

The first initiative for higher-level vocational training in Viniculture-Oenology was taken in 1871 and at the turn of the XXth century a school for Oenologists was already organized. In the 1920s the school was called Higher Agricultural School, later from the end of the 1930s it was renamed as Roman Catholic Agricultural Secondary School of Gyöngyös.

The education of agricultural experts in Gyöngyös began in 1962, when, accordingly to the increased needs, agricultural higher schools were founded in different parts of the country. Later these higher schools were integrated and became colleges or faculties. In 1976 our institution became the Agricultural Faculty of Gödöllő University of Agriculture. The Hungarian Parliament established the Saint Stephen University in Gödöllő effective from 1 January 2000, so the name of the faculty changed to Saint Stephen University, Faculty of Economics and Agriculture, Gyöngyös. Its educational range organically linked to the educational strategy of Saint Stephen University highlighting the role of intellectual expert training for the countryside.

The National Assembly established Károly Róbert College effective from 1st September 2003 with its headquarters in Gyöngyös thus all agricultural courses was transferred in the academic year 2003/2004 to the activities of the Faculty of Agriculture and Rural Development of Károly Róbert College. This faculty covered activities of four departments:

- Department of Environmental Management and Agronomy,
- Department of Horticulture,
- Department of Animal Husbandry and Game Management,
- Department of Agricultural Technical Department.

Agricultural courses run within the frameworks of full-time, correspondence and distance education, at the following levels:

- Higher level vocational training course: Agricultural Manager Assistant Basic.

- Bachelor's Degree Programmes: Economic and Rural Development Engneering, Agricultural Engineering in Informatics and Administration, Horticultural Engineeering, Agricultural Engineeering in Environment Management, Agricultural Engineering, Game management Engineering.

- Master’s Degree Programme: Agricultural Engineering in Rural Development.

In 2009 a reorganisation was achieved in the structure of the Faculty and also its name was changed to Faculty of Natural Resources Management. In the framework of the Faculty three institutions were established:

- Institute of Agro-technology,
- Institute of Environmental Management,
- Institute of Rural Development and Remote Sensing.

Fleischmann Rudolf Agricultural Research Institute and Research Institute for Viticulture and Oenology became part of the Faculty, whose research activities also took place in the formation of research strategy, and their scientists were also involved in education.

In 2012 as a result of structural reorganization of the College, the faculty status of agricultural education was terminated, and the training continued in the framework of Institute of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences until establishing of Eszterházy Károly University.

In 2016 agricultural education and research got back the faculty status in the Eszterházy Károly University. There are two institutes – Institute of Agricultural Sciences and Environmental Management-, Institute of Rural Development -, one department – Department of Viticulture and oenology - and a Group for Agricultural Traineeship within the Faculty of Agricultural Sciences and Rural Development.


< Back